Gluten Free Barbecue Chicken Pizza with Tomato Cucumber Salad

Homemade pizza is quite possibly one of the easiest and most fun dinners to make any night of the week. I mean, what other dinner allows you to smash and stretch food into whatever shape you like and then add whatever your heart desires on top of it?!

This recipe was very low maintenance for me because I had already made my barbecue chicken and barbecue sauce. All that was left was to chop up a little bell pepper and onion and make the crust.

I know, making your own pizza crust probably sounds daunting and time-consuming, but trust me it isn’t!

Gluten Free (or not) Barbecue Chicken Pizza

  • 1 package of Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Pizza Crust Mix
  • 3/4 cup leftover barbecue chicken
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup chopped bell pepper
  • 1/3 cup thinly sliced red onion
  • 1/3 cup barbecue sauce
  • 3/4 cup Monterrey Jack cheese

I’m not a super health nut in that I do all things gluten free (as evidenced by my bread recipe the other day), but I did try a gluten free pizza crust in this recipe. Mainly, I used the mix because it was sitting in my pantry and I had no clue what I had originally bought it for, but I also just wanted to try and see what it was like. Truthfully, the gluten free crust wasn’t bad! I did get a, “What’s up with the crust,” from the hubs, but other than that I’d say it was a general success. You’re more than welcome to do a gluten-rific homemade pizza dough for this recipe too! Homemade dough only takes about an hour and a half with only 15-20 minutes of hands-on time. This recipe from allrecipes.com is easy and quick to make. TIP – If you don’t have/don’t want to buy bread flour you can use all purpose instead. AP flour will give you a chewier crust though, so if you like it thin and light go with bread flour (that way you’ll have it on hand for future pizza dough, right?).

I started with my dough mix and just followed the directions which required me to add eggs, water, and oil. I pulled it together with a wooden spoon, covered it with a towel, and (surprisingly enough it only needed 20 minutes to rise?) let it rise.

After rising!

After I got my crust together (which was HELLA wet and sticky, by the way) I pressed about half the dough into my oiled small 10” pizza pan with my fingers. This trick is one of my own – I take a fork and stab the dough a few times in the middle so that when I do my first bake the crust doesn’t  balloon up too much, then I drizzle about 1 tsp of olive oil over it for flavor. I did the first bake on my crust for 10-12 minutes at 400. I like it to do an initial bake on the crust because I like mine crispy, but if you prefer your crust to be softer skip this step and go right to toppings.

After the pre-bake start topping your pizza! I started with a thin layer of barbecue sauce. Don’t forget to leave about 1/2” at the edge for the crust handle!

Then I add the cheese to help glue my toppings to the pizza (don’t worry I add a little more on top later too).

Pile on the veg…

Yum! Doesn’t that look so pretty already?! Then pile on the chicken goodness and top with a little extra cheese.

Throw it back in the oven at 400 until the veggies are soft and the cheese is melted.

Mmm…cheesy pizza goodness! As you can see, the hubs loves pizza so much he snagged a piece before I could even snap a picture!

Tomato Cucumber Salad

  • 1 1/2 large tomatoes, chopped (or a pint of grape/cherry tomatoes, whatever you have!)
  • 1 English cucumber, thinly sliced (you could also use 2 medium regular cucumbers, seeded and peeled – the skin on regular cucumbers is tougher than the skin on English cucumbers and the seeds are larger)
  • 1/4 cup thinly sliced red onion (or more if you prefer – I like to go light on raw onion)
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • about 1/4 cup olive oil (AKA – a healthy drizzle)
  • 2 Tsp chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 Tsp chopped fresh dill
  • S&P

This salad is so simple and fresh (Hint – it’d be an AWESOME lunchtime side to a soup, sandwich, or pizza!). Best part is it only took me 5 minutes to throw it all together! You don’t have to think of salad as lettuce and a bunch of veggies. Salad is whatever YOU make it, so make it fun!

Start by slicing the cucumber and onions and chopping the tomatoes (you could seed the tomatoes if you’re using larger tomatoes, it’s up to you) into a large bowl.

Squirt the lemon juice right over the salad. TIP – if the lemon is feeling hard or tight, put it on the counter and press on it with the palm of your hand to loosen it. You could also pop the whole lemon into the microwave to loosen the juices. When you’re squeezing it, squeeze it cut-side up so that the seeds stay with the lemon and don’t end up in your salad. Give the salad a healthy drizzle of olive oil, salt, and pepper and toss to combine. (You could combine the lemon vinaigrette in a separate bowl – lemon juice, olive oil, salt and pepper – either way you do it it ends up the same!)

So good already, but let’s add a little freshness to it with some herbs! I made it easy and cut them right into my bowl with kitchen scissors. Toss to combine…

Voila! An easy, fresh salad that only takes 5 minutes!

This lemon vinaigrette is my go-to dressing – I love it on everything from Greek salad to tossed salad, chicken, pork chops, fish, pasta salad, tuna salad…you name it! It’s so zingy and fresh when you try it once you’ll want it on everything too.

Leave a Reply

