Get Thee Some Local Produce!

I don’t step on the soap box often, but I’m about to – you’ve been warned.

Since becoming a mom, I’m not only concerned about what I’m consuming but also what my kid is consuming. Let me introduce you to 3 little letters that could change your eating habits my the end of this post – G-M-O.

Genetically Modified Organisms (GMOs) are laboratory-made, using totally different techniques than natural breeding methods (i.e. cross-pollination) and pose health risks. GMOs are banned in many other countries, but in the US we don’t even LABEL GMO foods. Over 80%(!!!) of food in the US contains GMOs, including organic varieties.

Basically, the big bad food industry in North America is doing experiments on us and our children.

DON’T be fooled into thinking that GMOs are a good thing – they’re not. Over 50 developed countries around the globe have banned GMOs, and don’t believe the consumption of GMOs is safe. Because of GMOs, we’re now seeing the emergence of “super weeds” and “super bugs” that must be killed with higher amounts of extremely potent poisons. I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to eat poison with a side of food.

What can you do to keep your family safe? Eat local produce, or better yet grow your own! Find a farmer’s market near you, and ask the farmers questions about their produce. Chances are, they’re familiar with GMOs. If they’re a mom and pop farmer, or even someone on your block with a few extra tomatoes, they most likely don’t use GMOs and their produce will be 50 times yummier than anything you’ll get from Walmart.

Not sure where to find a farmer’s market? Use this site to find locally grown food markets and farmer’s markets near you. I entered in my zip code and found TEN markets within 15 miles of me, 9 of which I didn’t even know about. Win!

I know you can’t expect to get everything you need at the farmer’s market, so for those times when you have to go to a chain, look for foods that are Non GMO Verified. Non GMO Project has created a seal of approval which is only given to products with less than 0.9% GMO. Visit their website, http://www.nongmoproject.org, to find out more or print their Non GMO product list.

End of soap box.

Leave a Reply

