Summer Veggie Frittata

Don’t be afraid of the fancy name – a frittata is basically a giant omelet without all the flippy work. 

I love frittatas because you can literally throw whatever you want into some scrambled eggs and call it a day. I had some leftover veggies from my Thai stir fry the night before, and that was my inspiration for this recipe. 

I have a new-found love for breakfast burritos, and one of my favorite combos is potato, pepper, and onion. Precisely what I had on-hand from my stir fry, plus some other stuff.

Once you make a few frittatas, play around with the recipe and add your own flair to it – chorizo, ground beef, bacon, Italian sausage, smoked salmon, asparagus, tomato-basil…ALL great things. 

Summer Veggie Frittata

1 medium potato, any variety, cubed (skin removal is a personal preference. Personally, I love the skin.)

3 scallions, sliced

1/2 red bell pepper, cubed

1/2 green bell pepper, cubed

3-4 medium baby bella mushrooms, chopped

about 2 slices sharp cheddar cheese, cut into small chunks

6 eggs

1/4 c. water

Preheat your oven to 400. Chop all your veggies (except scallions) and saute them lightly in a pan over medium heat until they’re all tender. I found the order that works best is potatoes (cook 2-3mins), peppers (cook 4-5mins), and mushrooms (last 2-3mins). Once all your veggies are tender, crack the eggs in a medium-sized bowl with the water and scramble them up. I know water isn’t the “norm” for scrambled eggs, but I love it and I’ll tell you why: 1) water doesn’t add calories to your eggs and 2) scrambling eggs with water helps them not stick as much to your pan. Use milk if you must, but I like using water. Add the cooked veggies to the eggs, then add the sliced scallions and 3/4 of the cheese chunks. Add it all to a baking dish, an 8×8 will do just fine, then add the rest of the cheese on top. 

A note on your pan size – it doesn’t have to be big, but you want it to be on the deep side. Your egg mixture will puff up when it’s cooking and you don’t want it spilling over the edges and burning into the bottom of your oven (ick). You want about and 3/4 – 1in. of head room in your pan.

Image

Should look something like this ^ (don’t be jealous of my heart-shaped pan). Pop it into the oven and bake for about 30mins. I timed it in 10min increments because you don’t want burnt eggs. You’ll know it’s done when you move the pan and the center of your frittata no longer jiggles. 

At the end you should have something yummy looking, like this.

Image

 

Yum! Cut yourself a slice and have some breakfast, brunch, lunch, or dinner. 

 

Leave a Reply

