Mile-High Bunless Burgers

I love burgers any which way – turkey, beef, veggie, you name it. With the warm weather finally settling in, I am craving burgers all the time. Which isn’t a bad thing, because burgers done right can be a healthy and filling meal.

Most  of the time, burgers are done with potatoes – fries, potato salad, mashed potatoes, tots, sweet potato fries, baked potatoes…I could go on, but at the risk of sounding like Bubba, I’ll stop. To keep it low carb, I have been pairing my burgers with a big pile of buttered broccoli. However, I experimented a little and came up with, what I believe, to be a pretty darn good low carb mac and cheese. It was so rich, creamy, and delicious – and doesn’t put me into Crossover territory meal-wise. (That may sound like a foreign language, “Crossover,” but my fellow Trim Healthy Mamas will get me. Trim Healthy Mama is the food plan I follow that helps me lose and maintain weight. I will never refer to THM as a diet, because it’s not. It’s food freedom! If you’d like to learn more about the THM plan, you can do so here.)

Onto the good eats!

Jalapeno Bacon Cheese Burgers with Low Carb Mac and Cheese

Jalapeno Cheeseburgers (THM S)

  • 1lb grass-fed beef (mine was 85% lean, don’t be afraid of fat!)
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/4 tsp chipotle chile powder
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Diced pickled jalapeños to taste (I used about 1 Tsp)
  • Sprinkle of shredded sharp cheddar
  • Toppings: lettuce for the “bun”, tomato, pickles, cooked bacon, red onion, mustard, sugar free ketchup, mayonaise

Mix well, form into a mound, and score into 4s to get even patties. Make a dimple in the middle to prevent puffing. Grill to desired temperature, and top with thin-sliced hard cheddar.

Mac and Cheese (THM S)

  • 1/2 lb of Dreamfield’s rotini noodles (Essential! Learn more about Dreamfield’s)
  • 2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1 1/2 c unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tsp zanthan gum
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • 3 heaped Tsp nutrional yeast (not essential, but helpful in kicking the sweetness of the milk. Plus, it’s good for you.)
  • 1 Tsp butter
  • Salt and pepper

Heat milk, butter, and mustard in a small pan. Once heated, add zanthan gum while whisking. Once sauce begins to thicken, sprinkle in cheese in 2 or 3 batches. Whisk in nutritional yeast, and turn off the heat. Add sauce to cooked pasta and enjoy! (NOTE* You can have up to 1 cup of Dreamfield’s pasta without going it being a Crossover.)

Leave a Reply

