Semi-Homemade Burger Night

I used to love Sandra Lee’s Semi-Homemade show on Food Network back in the day. I even have one of her cookbooks! The whole premise of the show was using pre-cut, washed, or otherwise already  made items to reduce your cook and prep time.

However, people have wised-up a bit – that stuff costs a hot penny more than it’s unprepared sister. Even I try to make as much from scratch as I can, while still taking help from the grocery store.

Not tonight. Tonight is for fast, easy, throw it together and eat it food.

turkburgchilifry

Open-Faced Chipotle Turkey Burgers with Sweet Chili Fries

  • 3-4 seasoned Jenny-O turkey burgers
  • 3-4 slices sourdough (TRUE sourdough, with no yeast and has whole wheat flour. I have only been able to find it at Sprouts and Whole Foods.)
  • Boar’s Head chipotle gourmaise
  • Montreal chicken seasoning to taste

I told you this was going to be easy!

Season the thawed turkey burgers with a touch of Montreal seasoning on each side. Grill until cooked through, about 5-6 minutes on each side. Grill slices of sourdough. Top with chipotle gourmaise – be careful with this stuff! I love spice, and I can only handle so much of it. Top with desired toppings: lettuce, tomato, grilled onions, pickles, more mayo (because why not).

Sweet Chili Fries

  • 2-3 medium to large sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into thin wedges.
  • 1 Tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • drizzle of EVOO
  • Coconut oil cooking spray

Preheat oven to 450. Place wedged potatoes into a large mixing bowl, drizzle with seasonings and toss to coat.Dump onto a large sheet pan coated with foil and a spritz of coconut oil. Try to get them into one, even layer, and toss into the bottom rack of the oven while it’s still preheating. (*I love this trick for two reasons: 1. it reduces cooking time, and 2. in the summer, there’s nothing I want to do LESS than having the oven on a high temp. Period.)  Cook for about 20-25mins. It really depends on how big your cuts are. Just keep an eye on them, and turn/toss at least once.

I kind of flubbed this a little, THM-wise. I was GOING for an E recipe, but it ended up being a crossover. Damn Jenny-O got me – I thought all turkey was lean. Nope. Apparently, their pre-seasoned burgers are mixed with 10% fat. Taught myself a lesson there – even when you THINK you know what you’re buying, read the friggin’ label. So, in the end it was a Crossover – and still quite tasty.

Leave a Reply

