Sushi at Home

I love sushi. I can’t stay away from the stuff. Even while pregnant, I’ll still have sushi – I crave it the most during pregnancy, must be the “taboo” of it.

I kept thinking of it as a “cheat” meal because it almost always means a Crossover meal in the Trim Healthy Mama world.

Not anymore!

The wonderful creation that is cauliflower rice gives me a major leg-up here. I’m able to have all the flavors of sushi, without the naughty carbs. I don’t have a sushi roller, so I improvised with a few options which I’ll explain.

What I loved most about this meal was that it had all the decadence of a restaurant meal, and it all came together in under 30 minutes. [Amazing how much less time things take when you don’t have to actually COOK the stuff.]

Spicy Tuna Two Ways

  • 1.5 – 2lbs sushi grade ahi tuna steaks
  • 1/2 hothouse cucumber, julienned
  • 1 – 2 ripe avocados, thinly sliced
  • 1 1lb package cauliflower rice, fresh or frozen
  • Sriracha
  • Mayonnaise
  • Salt
  • Butter lettuce leaves

Start by cutting the tuna steaks into bite-sized pieces. Add a touch of salt and a drizzle of Sriracha. Don’t be afraid of the heat! This is the only  seasoning the tuna will get, so make sure it’s enough.

Put the cauliflower rice into a small microwave-safe casserole dish with a lid, and microwave for 2-3 minutes. You want it a little soft, but not totally steamed or piping hot. Just enough to take the raw edge off it.

Slice your veggies and grab a few leaves of lettuce. Make the Sriracha mayo – about 1 Tsp of mayo to every 1 tsp Sriracha. [My kids LOVED the spicy mayo. I knew my toddler would love it, because that girl loves spice like her momma does. I was pleasantly surprised that my little guy liked it too! Just goes to show you, let your kids try stuff even if you think it might not work.]

Here’s where the options come in.

I had originally envisioned this as a spicy tuna lettuce wrap, but DAMN butter lettuce is tiny. I made 3 little wraps, 2 leaves of lettuce each, and it didn’t hold together as well as I wanted it to. And I hate to be one of those people who shows you something really pretty but that doesn’t *really* work in Real Life. I like Real Life. If it doesn’t work in Real Life, I’m going to tell you.

You can go for the wraps, if you like – build it with lettuce, cauli rice on the bottom topped with tuna, cucumbers, avocado, and a little mayo.

After I struggled with the wraps, I did a deconstructed sushi roll – cauli rice topped with tuna, cucumber, avocado, mayo, and an extra drizzle of Sriracha.

Both tasted great! Try it both ways, and see which way you prefer it. My kids preferred the deconstructed way so that they could dip everything in the mayo. [Literally everything. I even gave them slices of bread, which they dipped in spicy mayo.] Have fun with it! You could even try a different lettuce like green or red leaf, for a bigger wrap.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

