Scream for Ice Cream

I wouldn’t say I have a sweet toothe. I would say all my teeth are sweet.

I love dessert!

While at Costco a few weeks ago, I went on a whim and bought an ice cream machine.

I love experimenting and trying new cooking techniques, so I knew it wouldn’t go unused.

For my first ice cream experiment, I decided to try to replicate one of my favorites. Salted caramel.

I can’t stand store-bought salted caramel. It never tastes “salted,” and always leaves me disappointed.

The salted caramel ice cream I love comes from a little gourmet ice cream shop called Morelli’s. My husband and I first discovered Morelli’s when we were living in the East Atlanta Village. They had unusual flavors, and we could walk there to have a treat on a brisk summer night. The first time I had it, it tasted so different from anything I’ve ever had before. It was salted to the point that it was almost too salty, but not. Divine.

I decided to try a spin on this from All Day I Dream About Food, Salted Caramel Dark Chocolate ice cream.

20160504_213422

Salted Caramel Dark Chocolate Ice Cream (THM S)

  • 6 Tsp unsalted butter
  • 2 Tsp coconut sugar
  • 1/2 c xylitol or loose Truvia
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp coarse sea salt
  • 1 1/2 c heavy cream
  • 1 c unsweetened vanilla almond milk (or other unsweetened dairy-free variety)
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 1/4 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 3.5oz bar 85% dark chocolate, coarsely chopped

Combine butter, sweetener, and coconut sugar in a small sauce pan. As butter melts, whisk the mixture to combine. Bring to a boil and cook 3-5 minutes, allowing butter and sugar to brown, but not burn.

Remove mixture from the heat and add vanilla and salt. Slowly add in cream while whisking constantly, mixture will bubble when this happens. Add in non-dairy milk.

Return mixture to medium heat, whisking often. Heat the mixture thoroughly, being careful not to boil. The mixture is ready when it can coat the back of a wooden spoon. [You run your finger down the back, and your line stays.] If you have a candy thermometer, this would happen around 170 degrees.

Set custard aside, in a large bowl of ice to bring down the temperature.When the mixture comes down to about room temperature, sprinkle the top with xanthan gum and whisk to combine. Once the pan is cool to touch, cover with plastic wrap or glass top, and refrigerate overnight. *Make sure the insulated part of your churner also goes in the freezer overnight.

Once ready to churn, assemble your churner and start it churning. Pour in the custard through the top spout and churn about 15-20 minutes, being careful not to over-churn. When your ice cream is nearing soft-serve texture add in the chopped dark chocolate through the pour spout. Remove mixture from the churner and store in an air-tight container in the freezer for a few hours to stiffen fully.

When you’re ready, have yourself a big ol’ scoop of happiness.

20160504_213442

Leave a Reply

