Creamy Shrimp Fra Diavolo

You can probably gather by the name, “Diavolo,” that this meal has a bit of a kick. However, the spice level can be customized to your tastes.

Traditionally, this sauce is a spicy red sauce, and this time I gave it a little extra wink by adding in some cream.

IMG_20160530_195722

You can even take a shortcut by using your favorite (no sugar added) jarred marinara and adding red pepper flakes to it, which is what I did. Usually, I love making my own marinara but there are times that I don’t have the time for it.

If you do have time to make your own marinara, go for it!

Creamy Shrimp Fra Diavolo (THM S)

  • 1lb large peeled and deveined shrimp
  • 2 cups marinara sauce, homemade or store bought
  • 1/3 c heavy cream or half and half
  • parmesan cheese
  • 1-2 medium zucchini, spiralized
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1/2 stick butter
  • red pepper flakes
  • salt and pepper

Melt the butter in a medium sauce pan, add garlic, salt and pepper, and a small pinch of red pepper flakes. When the butter is melted, add the shrimp and saute on medium heat until cooked through (about 2-3 minutes, depending on size of shrimp). Set the shrimp aside, leaving as much butter in the pan as possible.

To the same pan, add the zucchini noodles with salt, pepper, and another small pinch of red pepper flakes and saute on low heat until desired tenderness. I like mine al dente, so I only saute to heat them through  (about 3 minutes). Set the zoodles aside.

Add the marinara sauce to the same pan with the cream and a small pinch of red pepper flakes. Heat through on low for about 4 minutes, stirring  constantly. When the sauce is heated, add the zoodles back to the pan with a sprinkle of cheese and toss to combine. Add the zoodles to a bowl, top with shrimp and a little more cheese.

Even with the 3 pinches of red pepper flakes, this dish was not very spicy. My kids were fine with the spice level, and to me I only tasted a little tickle of the red pepper. It was perfect though! I think the first time I made this dish, I was more aggressive with the spice as if I was trying to burn my lips off my face. Less is more!

Leave a Reply

