Minny’s (THM) Chocolate Pie

I’m going to start this post by saying that developing this recipe was not easy. It took a few tries, BUT I finally got a winner out of it.

If you are not familiar with Minny, she baked the most amazingly decadent chocolate pies in all of Mississippi [in The Help]. A few years ago, I was inspired to make one of Minny’s pies for my family during Christmas. In short, it was a huge hit.

This year, I was determined to bring it back, AND make it healthier. Which brings me to the process…

20161001215918_img_1702

It wasn’t what you would call, “pretty.”

This picture was actually from my second attempt – the first was so horrid it was thrown out immediately. But! Through my trial in error, there are many advantages for you – one, I have specific tips that will help yours be a success the first time, and two, it shows you that not every little thing that comes out of my kitchen is “picture perfect.” Perfection is a hard standard to live by, and I’m 100% a human who makes mistakes. I’m also very stubborn in achieving what I want. One try didn’t stop me. Two tries didn’t stop me. Three tries almost made me cry, but it still didn’t stop me! All this to say, don’t feel discouraged if things don’t work the first time. I’m still understanding that there’s a learning curve with leading a healthy lifestyle, and it doesn’t come overnight delivery.

picsart_10-02-08-15-25

Third time’s the charm!

Minny’s Chocolate Pie (THM S)

Crust:

  • 3/4 c almond flour
  • 1/4 c coconut flour
  • 1/2 c (or 1 stick) cold unsalted butter, cut into cubes
  • 1/3 c Swerve or Gentle Sweet
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 egg

Filling:

  • 3/4 c Pyure or Gentle Sweet
  • 1/4 c unsweetened cocoa powder (I used Pernigotti)
  • 4 Tsp melted unsalted butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 c unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/3 c heavy cream
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Preheat an oven to 350.

In a food processor, combine the ingredients for the crust and pulse until a dough ball forms.

Roll the dough out onto a piece of parchment paper, form a ball, then press it down into a disk with your hands. NOTE* Don’t work it too much with your hands, just light touches, because you don’t want the butter to get too soft. Place another piece of parchment paper on top and roll the dough out to about 1/4 in. in thickness.

Turn the dough out into a pie plate or 9in cake pan.

HUGE NOTE* My first 2 tries were in a ceramic pie plate. Nothing fancy, but it also didn’t work well. The crust would get too wet in some places, and completely stuck to the plate in others. SO FRUSTRATING. However, it worked perfectly when I used a nonstick cake round. I’m assuming the round offered more even heating throughout, which kept the crust crispy, not burnt, and allowed the slices to pop free. Choose wisely, my friend.

Press the dough evenly into the bottom and sides, removing the parchment carefully. Prick the sides and bottom with a fork, and crimp the top if you wish.

Take a 12in. piece of foil, cut into 3s, and cover the upper crust of your pie to prevent burning. I also then placed the pie plate onto a baking sheet for easier transfer in/out of the oven.

Bake the crust for 12 minutes at 350.

While that’s happening, prepare the filling.

Beat together the sweetener, cocoa, and melted butter with a hand mixer. Add the eggs, and beat for 3 minutes. Add the almond milk, cream, vanilla, and salt and beat to combine. (NOTE* Yes, the mixture is watery. Trust me, pie will be made out of it. I’m about to go all Barefoot Contessa on you – use a really good cocoa powder. Really, it makes a difference.)

Pour the mixture into the pre-baked crust and say a little prayer (just kidding). Bake for 30-40 minutes at 350. When finished, the outer part will be set and have a soft bounce to the touch, and the center will be soft-set with a little jiggle to it. The top of the pie gets a brownie-like texture as it cools while retaining the soft, fudgy core.

20161001060431_img_1678

Yes, this picture is from pie #2. It was prettier, OK?

Here’s the hard part: let the pie cool completely to room temperature before slicing. The pie can be chilled for a firmer texture – it won’t impart any negative moisture onto the crust. However, it’s served best at room temp with a big ol’ dollop of fresh whipped cream.

20161001214936_img_1700

I mean, you can share…but why?

20161001220137_img_1705

MMM. Chocolate…

20161001214908_img_1698

Leave a Reply

