Chocolate Mocha Chip Fat Bomb Ice Cream (THM Deep S)

Chocolate is my thing. I eat dark chocolate almost daily (because it’s good for you, right?),  and it can be hard to get my fix without feeling weighed down by dairy.

This ice cream has all the velvety, creamy deliciousness of traditional ice cream with ZERO dairy. Plus, it’s filling and Fuel Cycle approved!

PicsArt_10-14-09.30.18.jpg

I haven’t talked about it much, but I’m considering doing my second Fuel Cycle (Chapter 28 of the original THM book) on the Trim Healthy Mama plan. Before I picked up blogging again, I did a Fuel Cycle back in Spring with great success. Don’t get me wrong – Fuel Cycles can be a little maddening, and they aren’t for THM beginners, or even those who are steadily losing. FCs are for when you experience a persistent stall while following the plan. I survived last time by following (to a “T”) a special FC menu laid out by the THM authors. It was nice having every meal and snack planned out, and it was easier to follow than I expected.

Through this experimentation, I’m glad I’ve found not one, but two ice cream recipes that are easy and Fuel Cycle approved.

Chocolate Mocha Chip Fat Bomb Ice Cream (THM Deep S)

Multiple Servings

  • 4 whole eggs
  • 4 egg yolks (save the whites for later!)
  • 1/3 c unsweetened cocoa powder (Use something really good! I used this one which gave a milk chocolate flavor with zero bitterness.)
  • 1/3 c melted raw cacao butter
  • 1/3 c melted coconut oil
  • 1/4 c MCT oil
  • scant 1/4 c Pyure or Gentle Sweet (I think the sweetener depends on the bitterness of your cocoa. Go scant at first, then you can taste and add more as needed.)
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2-1 Tsp espresso powder
  • 1/4 c Lily’s chocolate chips
  • 2 Tbsp vegetable glycerin, optional (helps keep the ice cream texture soft after freezing)
  • 10-15 ice cubes

Freeze the insulated part of your ice cream churner overnight, if needed.

In a high-powered blender, add all the ingredients except for the ice cubes and chocolate chips, then whip for about 2-3 minutes or until creamy. Taste and adjust for sweetness, if needed.

With the blender going (through a release spout in the top) begin adding the ice cubes, one at a time and waiting about 10 seconds between. If your blender doesn’t have a release spout, simply add one at a time and blend well between cubes. This step is to simply bring down the temperature of the mixture while diluting it slightly.

Prepare your ice cream churner – I like to spray the insulated part with a little coconut oil to keep my custard from sticking. Pour in the mixture and churn for 10-12 minutes, or until it reaches soft-serve like consistency. Scoop half the mixture into a loaf pan, or other dish suitable for the freezer. Sprinkle with the chocolate chips, then add the other half of the ice cream. Stir gently to combine, then serve immediately or freeze for 45 minutes to overnight, if you like.

20161012223710_img_1836

I decided to freeze my ice cream overnight before taste-testing, and was extremely pleased with the texture. When I tried the pumpkin version of this, I accidentally left out the vegetable glycerin and it got pretty hard overnight. I heated it in the microwave to be scoopable, and then it was fine. Here, I was happy to find that the glycerin did its job in keeping the texture firm, but still scoopable. [Lesson learned, don’t forget the glycerin.]

And the taste! Oh my gravy, y’all. If you haven’t tried fat bomb ice cream yet, you need to.

My kids were the abiding taste-testers and, to put it mildly, they loved it. [Despite the look on my 4-year-old’s face, she did like it. That’s what I get for asking her to smile. ^_^] They’re like me, and could probably eat the whole batch in one sitting. But we were all happy with having it as a mid-morning treat.

Other Cycle-friendly variations of this ice cream you could try would be:

  • Nutella – trading the espresso for hazelnut flavoring and reducing to 1-2 tsp.
  • Double Chocolate – leave out the espresso and add a few more chocolate chips.
  • French Vanilla – leave out the cocoa powder and espresso, add beans from a vanilla pod and 1/2 tsp of hazelnut flavor.
  • Matcha – omit cocoa and espresso. Add 1-2 Tsp matcha powder and 1/2 tsp coconut flavor.
  • Orange Creamsicle – omit cocoa and espresso. Add zest of 1 orange and 1-2 tsp orange oil or flavor.
  • This Pumpkin variation

What’s your favorite ice cream flavor? Have you tried the Fat Bomb recipe yet?

 

Leave a Reply

