Roasted Pork Tenderloin & Baked Apples

Pork chops and apples is one of my all-time favorite Fall combinations. It’s probably my dad in me, because he’s an apple man unlike no other.

Growing up, I remember (somewhat fondly) having Stouffer’s baked apples. It must have been my dad’s favorite side dish, because we had it a lot. I haven’t had those apples in years, because with their sugar content they might as well be candy. Since I’ve stopped eating sugar, my palette has changed and I just don’t enjoy crazy-sweet things anymore.

That’s why these baked apples are the bomb. The sweetness comes from pure apple-y goodness, and I spiced them up with a blend of cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and a little salt. I added a little xanthan gum to the mix to make a light sauce, and it all came together perfectly.

The pork tenderloin, I kept relatively simple with light seasoning, searing it in my cast iron skillet, and finishing it in the oven.

I topped it all off with some FP gravy from last week’s turkey feast.

All in all, the perfect Fall-inspired meal.

20161025075725_img_1940

Roasted Pork Tenderloin (THM FP)

  • Servings: 4-5
  • Time: 30 minutes
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print


Credit: Erin Murray, My Fling with Food

Ingredients

  • 1-2 lbs lean pork tenderloin
  • 1 tsp ground sage
  • 2 tsp dried thyme
  • salt and pepper

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. Heat a large cast iron skillet over medium heat. Season the tenderloin with the sage, thyme, salt, and pepper and rub it into all sides of the meat.
  3. Place the meat into the hot pan, and sear it about 3 minutes on all sides.
  4. When flipping the meat onto the final side to sear, remove from heat and place into the oven to finish. Bake for about 10-15 minutes, or until desired internal temperature is reached.


Baked Apples (THM E)

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 45 minutes
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print


Credit: Erin Murray, My Fling with Food

Ingredients

  • 2lbs apples (any variety or mix that you like. I used Honeycrisp)
  • 1 Tsp softened butter
  • 2 palmfuls ground cinnamon
  • 1 palmful ground ginger
  • 2 pinches nutmeg
  • 2 pinches salt
  • 1/4 tsp xanthan gum

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. Peel and slice the apples. Mine were on the larger side, and I used an apple cutter, then halved some of the larger pieces. The only thing to note here is the thinner you slice them, the faster they cook. Place the sliced apples into an 8×8 pan.
  3. Season the apples with the softened butter, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, salt, and sprinkle on the xanthan gum. Stir to combine and place in the oven uncovered to bake for 30-40 minutes.
  4. Stir halfway through to help activate the xanthan gum.
  5. Let stand for 5-7 minutes, and serve.

Leave a Reply

